Seminar III: Education for Sustainable Development in early childhood

OMEP Seminar Series 2021-2022: Early childhood care and education (ECCE) in debate

Thursday, November 4th. 2021

7 am Buenos Aires / 11 am CET Europe / 7 pm Japan / 11 pm NZ Aotearoa

The Seminar will include presentations from the EDS 2021 award winning students from the following countries: Sweden, Croatia, Japan and Turkey. Opening remarks will be delivered by Ingrid Engdahl, OMEP Vice President for the European region and leader of the EDS team. The event will be coordinated by Adrijana Visnjic Jevtic and Glynne Mackey, from the EDS team and OMEP Croatia and OMEP New Zealand, respectively. The closing words will be in charge of Mercedes Mayol Lassalle, OMEP World President.

The Swedish project is called “EdChild app”. Explores through technology how to help teachers in education for sustainable development. The app was developed in collaboration with Swedish preschool teachers and is free to use.
Two projects from Croatia will also be presented. The first one called “Finaktivci” will be presented by Anja Kočiš, 22, a graduate of the Faculty of Teacher Training and a Bachelor of Early Childhood and Preschool Education. She is a member of the non-profit organization Prospirit and works in a children's playroom. The second project is called “Recycle a toy, promote sustainability” and will be presented by 6 third-year preschool and kindergarten students from the University of Zagreb. 
The project presented by Japan is an online cross-cultural exchange program for kindergartens. The project aims to raise awareness about diversity by interacting with peers in different countries at an early age.
In Turkey the winning project is “Children as Systemic Thinkers: Exploring Water woth Education for Sustainable Development”. This project aims to link systems thinking and Education for Sustainable Development by presenting an example of systems education for young children by developing and implementing a learning framework created specifically on water for children aged 5 to 6 years, as well as measuring its impact.

CONCEPT NOTE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Abonnez-vous à notre Lettre
Page Facebook
Facebook Pagelike Widget
Skip to content